Comparing Proof Versions

    Summary: Compare mode gives you visibility to all available versions of the same proof. Additionally, it allows you to compare the versions side by side which makes it very easy to verify that all markups and comments from previous versions have been made before you apply further comments or make a decision on a proof. Compare mode provides a central location to see all the revision history which could be helpful with any audit trail requirements.

    Available for: Any user that has been granted “View” permissions (the user will only see versions they were invited into), however, if you want your reviewers to have the ability to markup, comment or make decisions on the latest version you would need to ensure they are granted the appropriate permissions.


    How does it work?

    Compare mode is accessed from the blue sidebar inside the proof viewer. See screenshot below.


    You will now enter comparison mode.

    Each function has been numbered in the screenshot below along with a description underneath.


    1

    Exit button

    Press this to exit comparison mode and go back to the proof viewer.

    2

        

    Version drop-down

    The reviewer can choose which versions they want to display side by side in compare mode. Please note that each version will show any markups or comments associated with that version.

    3

     

    Decision button

    You are able to make a decision on the proof while in compare mode. This is a great shortcut if you are viewing the new version against the old and verifying that the changes have been made. Please note that the decision button will only display if you are granted “Decision” permissions.

    See “How To - Finish a Review & Understand Proof Decisions” for further details. 

    4

     

    Synchronization on/off

    When you enter compare mode both versions are synchronized together by default. This means that zooming, panning or changing the proof page on one version will automatically happen on the other. This is designed to make it easier to check the differences between two versions at the same zoom and page level. You can turn off this synchronization by clicking on the padlock button and it will unlock. Please note that if you are in synchronization mode and you click on the comments, the versions will also zoom to the correct ratio to show each comment as you click on them - this is a fantastic way to compare versions.

    5

     

    Uniform button

    When you click on this button both versions will zoom out to “fit window” and automatically synchronize the versions back together. This is useful if you are displaying different pages or different zoom levels across the versions.

    6

     

    Auto Compare

    This pixel by pixel Auto Compare allows you to easily highlight the differences between two versions. A more detailed explanation of Pixel by Pixel compare mode is located below.

    7

     

    Pixel mode color selector

    When you are using pixel by pixel auto compare you can select the color to highlight the differences between the two versions. This is useful if you have colored text. 

    8

     

    Comments show/hide

    If you want to hide comments click on the arrow button. If you want to show comments on one or both versions click on the speech bubble to reveal them. The number next to the speech bubble indicates how many comments have been made. 

    **Pixel by Pixel compare mode

    When you click on Auto Compare it will highlight the differences between two proofs. For example, if you requested that some text be slightly moved or you want to see if a color correction has been made, this is an extremely powerful feature that allows you to be sure even the most subtle changes were applied between versions.


    The screenshot above shows the two versions side by side. Comment 2 has been clicked on by the reviewer who requested the text be moved up. They want to verify that the change was made so they click on the "Auto compare" button (shown with the large red arrow). The new version will highlight the old text position allowing the reviewer to confirm that the change was made.

    There is also a color picker next to the "Auto compare" button that allows the reviewer to choose different highlight colors. (See screenshot below)


    Additional Information:

    • To use the compare function you must have permission to view all versions of the proof that you wish to compare.
    • If the reviewer clicks on compare and only one version exists then both windows will be filled with the same proof version.

    Supporting material: